Skip to content

Leek and Potato Soup

April 8, 2010

This lovely recipe is pretty much Tom Kitchin’s Leek and Potato Soup with Crisp Ox tongue, minus the Ox Tongue. Although I did this from memory (and so adjusted it ever so, ever so slightly) you can find his version on the BBC Food website.

This reminds me of an interesting debate to which I have been an online bystander for a few weeks now; at what point does a recipe become ‘yours’. Where is the line between influence and mimicry, and how much adjustment does it take to transform it from something you read, saw on TV or heard about, to something that you can say was ‘your creation’? I have found this quite an interesting little virtual fracas, but don’t really feel I’ve quite earned the right to stick my oar in.

So for now, I’m really quite happy to tell you that Mr Kitchin’s version is indeed Michelin Starred (I believe it’s had a stint on his menu) and that mine is, well, erm… not. Some may argue that a Leek and Potato soup is a Leek and Potato soup is a Leek and Potato soup, but I have no doubt that this very recipe lends considerable weight against that!

This is a very quick little dish and you can skip on the ‘frivolities’, but that poached egg is inspired! In fact, I used Duck eggs as the are so creamy and rich. A perfect Sunday evening meal that needs some nice crispy bread to wipe the bowl clean. The best bit about this sort of soup is that you can rescue the bits of leek you wouldn’t serve with, say, the rack of lamb. Indeed, dark green tops bring robust flavour and lovely colour to the dish.

This served two, very comfortably. You could in fact add more water or weak stock to thin it or stretch it.

Ingredients

  • 4 or 5 leeks, tops and all, finely sliced
  • 2 or 3 large potatoes, diced
  • 1 pint of weak chicken stock
  • 1 Onion, finely chopped
  • 2 Duck Eggs
  • Pinch of Paprika
  • 2 baby leeks
  • Butter
  • Olive oil
  • White wine vinegar

Get cooking

Melt the onions in some butter over a medium heat. Once translucent, add the leeks. Cook these for a few minutes, season then add the potatoes and cover it with the weak stock, making up the difference with water.

Once you can easily crush a potato with the back of a fork, take a stick blender to the lot. Test for seasoning and consistency – I like this sort of soup *really* thick, but that’s just me.

To garnish, poach the duck eggs in some water at a low rolling boil with a tablespoon of white wine vinegar. Tom Kitchin used a great trick; break both eggs in the same bowl, whisk the water to make a whirl pool, then gently drop in both eggs. If they’re fresh, they’ll usually separate naturally, otherwise, just cut them after getting them out. Sprinkle a little paprika on the egg in each bowl.

For the baby leeks, just brush with oil, season and griddle them on a very high heat for about 2 or 3 minutes on each side. I then spit them length ways to make them a tad more manageable with a spoon.

Serve it steaming hot and don’t forget that door stop of crusty farmhouse bread!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 4:49 pm

    This sounds so good and does look as creamy and yum as you promised! I’ve never cooked with duck eggs..I’m racking my brains to remember if I’ve ever eaten any. And i think the answer is no! I gotta get myself some and have a go at them. :) x

    • April 9, 2010 9:38 am

      Thanks Diva! Duck eggs are loverly indeed – and interestingly I get mine at the butcher… they are well worth a try, but don’t worry; the soup can stand alone. TTFN

  2. April 10, 2010 6:15 pm

    This is beautiful – I love the baby leeks topping!

  3. April 13, 2010 7:16 am

    At last I found a use for the green tips of leek. They usually get tossed. The duck eggs is a nice touch. Makes it a more hearty meal.

Leave a Reply

