Skip to content

Chocolate Truffle Cake

January 25, 2011

Another bit of fun with chocolate… For all of you who miss the excuse of Christmas to indulge in chocolatey goodness, this one is for you.

This is dead easy. However, it is only the ‘second easiest dessert’ because its predecessor is  literally just whipping cream, left over covering chocolate from the Cumin and Tangerine Truffle and a shot of coffee. You end up with a delightfully smooth chocolate pot, which I can highly recommend.

This recipe was developed on Christmas morning with my sister when my mother announced that I had to make a dessert for anyone who didn’t like xmas pud. Now, I am ashamed to admit it, but that accusation was targeted squarely and solely at me. That’s right; despite my mother and the Lady making a wonderful Christmas pudding (and the fact that I believe booze makes anything taste wonderful) I really (really) don’t like them.

You’d imagine that the quantities are a bit much for one, and you’re quite right. This will server, I reckon, about 4 to 6. I’m a bit vague because my family are just like gannets; they might have a dessert – maybe even two – available to them, but if there is a third, no matter who it’s for or how much there is of it, they will need to try it. And by “try”, I mean “have”. And when I talk about my family, I mean the 20 relations that sit down to a session of competitive eating on Christmas day. I actually still hold the record for number of roast potatoes consumed over the Christmas dinner – don’t ask for the number; it’s sickeningly high! So, I decided I should make a big enough truffle cake for anyone to try.

Ingredients

  • 450 ml Whipping Cream
  • 300 g Dark Chocolate
  • 1 shot espresso
  • 1 Star Anis
  • 1/2 stick Cinnamon
  • 1 egg

Get Cooking

Very simple:

1. Melt the chocolate with ground up cinnamon and Star Anis

2. Whip the cream to soft peaks

3. Combine the two with the espresso (although a spoonful of good flavoured instant would do)

4. Whip in the egg

I refrigerated it for about 2 or 3 hours and it will set to a wonderfully light texture. Unfortunately, I have no pictures, but hopefully my brother-in-law took one – I shall post it if he did!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

